Saturday, July 15, 2017

Boogie Patrol - Man on Fire

2017 – Boogie Patrol

By Phillip Smith; July 15, 2017

Boogie Patrol, a high-energy five-piece R&B band from Edmonton, Alberta has recorded an outstanding batch of ten original songs on their latest album, Man on Fire.   Rott’n Dan Shinnan takes on lead vocals and harmonica, with guitarists Yuji Ihara and Chad Holtzman, bassist Nigel Gale, and drummer/percussionist Emmet Vanetten rounding out the band.  Special guests include Marc Arnold on Hammond B3/Keys and The Mocking Shadows Horns.   

I’m hooked from the moment the horns bust loose on the smooth and breezy “Players Blues”.  Shinnan’s vocals, dripping with a cool hip rasp, ushers the album in with a suave and strong confidence.  His vocal and harmonica performance on “Hard to Tell” is grand and soulful. It’s a beautiful song for sure. The funk breaks out in a big meaty way on “Shaker Down Below”.  Complete with a rich horn accompaniment, this one is served just the way I like it, with lots of jam.  The driving funky rhythm of “Got One On Ya” is quick to grab my attention, and opens the gate for a fun and groovy listening experience.  With guitars blazing and horns on fire, Shinnan delivers an amazing vocal performance on title track “Man on Fire”, bringing the album comes to a powerful close. 

Man on Fire is a fabulous listen from start to finish.  It doesn’t really get much better than this.


Take a listen to the album on Apple Music, and if you decide to purchase it, use my special link.  This helps keep the PhillyCheeze site going. 

Click on the link below to purchase this terrific album from the PhillyCheeze Amazon store.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.