Saturday, December 16, 2017

#309 : International Blues Challenge #33

Various Artists
International Blues Challenge #33
2017 –Frank Roszak Promotions
Release Date : Oct. 1, 2017

By Phillip Smith; Dec 16, 2017

The Blues Foundation and Frank Roszak Promotions have once again teamed up to release another fantastic album to showcase the talented artists who make the pilgrimage to Memphis, Tennessee for the acclaimed International Blues Challenge.  This fourteen track release focuses on the Solo/Duo division and Band division finalists specifically.

“Shine On” from the first place band winner Dawn Tyler Watson leads off with an exhilarating gospel-rooted, sax-infused shotgun start.  It is glorious indeed.  From North Carolina, Randy McQuay serves up outstanding slow-cooking slide guitar on “Till I Get to Memphis”.  The piano blues on “Don’t Dig Today” from first place, Solo/Duo winner Al Hill, is beautiful and timeless.  A driving rhythm runs through Sobo Blues Band’s “Catfish Boogie” while Daniel Kriman wails on the slide guitar.   It’s captivating how this band from Jerusalem incorporates their American, Russian, and Middle Eastern influences into their music.  I absolutely love it.  Ruth Wyland & The Tribe of One’s  “I Don’t Have Proof” is a mesmerizing and heartfelt tale of unfaithfulness.  From Spain, Felix Slim, masterfully captures the essence of acoustic guitar blues in a captivating performance of “I Hate You Cause I Love You”.  King Bee, out of Montgomery, Alabama hits hard with a heavy riff in their ripping track “Dangerous”, and it sounds great.

The International Blues Challenge #33 CD is a great blues sampler with a ton of terrific music.  It certainly opens one’s eyes on how endearing The Blues is on a worldwide scale.

Track Listing
1. Dawn Tyler Watson - Shine On
2. Johnny Fink & The Intrusion - Let's Hear Some Blues
3. Randy McQuay - Till I Get To Memphis              
4. Brody Buster's One Man Band - 2029                              
5. Al Hill - Don't Dig Today              
6. Sobo Blues Band - Catfish Boogie
7. Ruth Wyand & The Tribe Of One - I Don't Have Proof   
8. Souliz Band Feat. Sugar & Spice - Good Lovin (Hot & Fresh From The Oven) 
9. Felix Slim - I Hate You Cause I Love You                       
10. Wes Lee - Chains That Bind                                
11. Sam Joyner - Onions Ain't The Only Thing 
12. Rae Gordon & The Backseat Drivers - Elbow Grease
13. King Bee - Dangerous
14. Sugar Brown - Meet Me In The Country

To join The Blues Foundation, or purchase this CD, visit them at their site:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.