Showing posts with label Honey Island Swamp Band. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Honey Island Swamp Band. Show all posts

Saturday, July 1, 2017

Sam Price and the True Believers (self-titled)

Sam Price and the True Believers
2017 – Sam Price Music

By Phillip Smith; July 1, 2017

When he’s not immersing himself into his mind-warping bass performances for the critically acclaimed Honey Island Swamp Band, New Orleans Sam Price has a sweet gig fronting his own funk-tified band, Sam Price and the True Believers.  With Price on bass and lead vocals, The True Believers consists of guitarist Matt Galloway, drummer Ethan Shorter, keyboardist Phil Breen, Conga Mike on congas, bongos, and percussion, and singer Whitney Alouisious.  Their first release is a five-track jubilee of infectious songs and note-worthy musical performances. 

Good vibes are abundant in the soulful bouncing rhythm of “Where I Want To Be”.  Featuring guest guitarist John Fohl (Cherry Poppin’ Daddys, Dr. John), this one turns my heart light on full beam.  Price breaks out the treasure chest of old skool funk on “Down To You”.  The whirling sounds of keys set the stage for Price’s funky bassline, Alouisious’ fierce vocals and a blazing saxophone played by Tom FitzpatrickEric "Benny" Bloom (Lettuce) lends his trumpet mastery to this song leading it to a cosmic climax.  It feels really good to snuggle up inside the relaxed swaying melody of “Keep On Pushing”.  I can’t help but think of Steely Dan when listening to this one.

I look very much forward to hearing what may come next from Sam Price and the True Believers.  They definitely have a good thing going.


Click on the link below to purchase this terrific album from the PhillyCheeze Amazon store.

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Honey Island Swamp Band - Concert Photos : Irish District Music & Arts Festival (Cedar Rapids, IA 6/17/17)

Cedar Rapids, IA
By Phillip Smith; June 18, 2017

Photos by Phillip Smith

Honey Island Swamp Band

Aaron Wilkinson – mandolin, guitar,
harmonica, vocals
Chris Mulé – guitar, vocals
Sam Price – bass, vocals
Garland Paul – drums, vocals
Chris Spies - keyboards
 Rick King - Percussionist

Saturday, September 3, 2016

Honey Island Swamp Band - Demolition Day

2016 –  Ruf Records
By Phillip Smith; Sep. 3, 2016

Formed about ten years ago in San Francisco by New Orleans musicians displaced from the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina, Honey Island Swamp Band is composed of Aaron Wilkinson (mandolin, guitar, harmonica, vocals), Chris Mulé (guitar, vocals), Sam Price (bass, vocals), Garland Paul (drums, vocals), and Trevor Brooks (keyboards).  Their newest release, Demolition Day is a bountiful big bowl of soulfully seasoned Americana roots-rock, and wonderfully written songs produced by Luther Dickinson(North Mississippi Allstars).   

An exquisitely funky bassline sets the track for an intoxicating jam fueled with spacy guitar in “Head High Water Blues”.  I love the little blasts of brass and boogie-laced piano accompaniment in “Watch and Chain”.  Mulé seems to have channeled the spirit of Harry Nilsson while writing “She Goes Crazy”.  The innocence lingering in the melody is a fun contrast to the chaotic love story welded into the lyrics.  “Katie” is a lovely piece as well.  This folky performance with a zydeco spirit is one my favorites.  The album comes to a close with the magnificent “Devils Den”.  The eclectic sound of Wilkinson’s mandolin and Mulé’s swampy slide guitar set an eerie ominous presence, like a Nick Cave murder ballad.

Demolition Day, one of the more interesting albums to recently dip into my awareness, reveals something new with each listen.  I’m downright captivated by this music and so enjoy being unconsciously ushered from genre to genre. That’s a craft in and of itself.