Showing posts with label Phil Breen. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Phil Breen. Show all posts

Saturday, April 13, 2019

#386 : Sam Price & The True Believers - DragonFly

2019 – Sam Price Music

By Phillip Smith; April 13, 2019

It’s been a couple of years since Sam Price, bass player for Honey Island Swamp Band, has released an album with the True Believers.  So, the time has come for a new one.    His latest album, Dragonfly, is a superb follow-up to its predecessor.  It’s a delicious blend of blues, jazz and funk simmered in kettle of soul.  Produced by Papa Mali and written by Price, it’s such a laid-back listen, I just love it.  The True Believers is comprised of drummer Ethan Shorter, vocalist Whitney Alouisious, guitarist Alex Mallet, keyboardist Phil Breen, and percussionist Conga Mike, as Price drives the bus on bass and vocals.       

“I’ll Meet You There”, with its charming southern soul, delightfully kicks off the album.  I dig the short instrumental “Stand Up”.  With Breen behind the keys, and Conga Mike’s groovy beats keeping everything aligned, Price fills out the funk-filled rhythm with his buttery bass.  The title-track, “Dragonfly”, is a soothing, rich and amazing listen.  The accompanying percussion from Michael Skinkus is remarkable.  Guitarist Todd Duke, trumpeter Gregory Davis, and Andriu Vanovski on electric piano, join the band for “Old Jim Crow” a socially-conscious New Orleans-style blues track which is plumb great.

From dreamy to funkified, the songs of Sam Price and the True Believers run the gambit of southern Americana, and makes a striking impression.  Dragonfly is indeed a superb listen. 


Take a listen to the album on Apple Music, and if you decide to purchase it, use my special link.  This helps keep the PhillyCheeze site going.

Click on the link below to purchase this terrific album from the PhillyCheeze Amazon Store.  As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Saturday, July 1, 2017

Sam Price and the True Believers (self-titled)

Sam Price and the True Believers
2017 – Sam Price Music

By Phillip Smith; July 1, 2017

When he’s not immersing himself into his mind-warping bass performances for the critically acclaimed Honey Island Swamp Band, New Orleans Sam Price has a sweet gig fronting his own funk-tified band, Sam Price and the True Believers.  With Price on bass and lead vocals, The True Believers consists of guitarist Matt Galloway, drummer Ethan Shorter, keyboardist Phil Breen, Conga Mike on congas, bongos, and percussion, and singer Whitney Alouisious.  Their first release is a five-track jubilee of infectious songs and note-worthy musical performances. 

Good vibes are abundant in the soulful bouncing rhythm of “Where I Want To Be”.  Featuring guest guitarist John Fohl (Cherry Poppin’ Daddys, Dr. John), this one turns my heart light on full beam.  Price breaks out the treasure chest of old skool funk on “Down To You”.  The whirling sounds of keys set the stage for Price’s funky bassline, Alouisious’ fierce vocals and a blazing saxophone played by Tom FitzpatrickEric "Benny" Bloom (Lettuce) lends his trumpet mastery to this song leading it to a cosmic climax.  It feels really good to snuggle up inside the relaxed swaying melody of “Keep On Pushing”.  I can’t help but think of Steely Dan when listening to this one.

I look very much forward to hearing what may come next from Sam Price and the True Believers.  They definitely have a good thing going.


Click on the link below to purchase this terrific album from the PhillyCheeze Amazon store.